Thank You


During this festive week, families are flocking together, grocery stores are stocked for the hoards of turkey-lovers grabbing last minute items, and The Food Network repeats every Thanksgiving episode ever aired. And when the table is set, and the turkey is pulled out of the oven, the family gathers around and takes turns saying what they’re thankful for. I don’t know about you guys, but I feel that most of the things people say are really cliché. Unless you’re hitting 60 with kids that are grown and starting families of their own, saying you’re thankful for a large family to come home to with teared up eyes doesn’t sound as precious after seven people have said it before you. What do you say without sounding cheesy and unoriginal while keeping it short?

I customarily joke around by keeping my grateful attitude light and general, but every now and then I like to charm the pants off of everyone and say something truly genuine and emotionally profound. Since I usually wing it at the dinner table, I thought I’d take my time and get a little real and intimate and write something with more meaning. I’ve always felt that I should show gratitude personally and individually. On that poignant note, here’s my list of what I’m thankful for this year.

All the beautiful people in my life I am grateful to have relationships with.

I am thankful to be living, to be breathing, and to be an overall healthy person whose body at the moment still functions. I have waken every morning this year glad to have another day without the agony of disease or an infection and focus on improving my soul and my performance.

Even though I’m a selfish human being with an ambitious nature who will always want more than what I need, I am always thankful for all the shiny and fancy things I possess. Up to this point, I have been fortunate to have grown up in luxury and I’m still fortunate to be experiencing a lavish lifestyle today, for as much too many of us already know it can all be taken away tomorrow. Enjoying the simpler things in life such as moments with people instead of time with objects has been a valuable notion I am still working on to firmly conceptualize in my own head.

I’ve learned an interesting life lesson this year about how I will probably never go homeless or without food for the sake of the amount of benevolent and patient people I have been blessed with in my life. With many figures in my family to look up to, I sometimes feel like an outsider not feeling as accomplished as they are just yet, but they all have taken me under their wings and have remained lasting examples to me. As I figure life out for myself, most of these necessities have been provided by my caring family and my aunt who recently welcomed me into her home and uses that as an excuse to stick her nose into my business and constantly ask if I have eaten something today and worries about my safety. I am lucky to have someone as obnoxious and obsessive like that in my life and remain beholden to her generosity.

I am thankful for the very few friends I still have and the new ones I have just met. Even when it’s hard for them to understand my complexities and personality, in their own way support me the best and sometimes only way they know how: by lending their ears for some hearty and humorous gossip and their couches at the end of a very long night. On most occasions, you are like family to me.

I am thankful for my small family now residing in Boston who I will miss out on enjoying their company for this year’s feast. To my father, who throughout my fledgling time so far on Earth has managed to teach me a lot about life and myself and continues to shape my viewpoints without him knowing it most of the time. Even though I’m sure he would rather my answer be that he raised me to become a med-student, I am forever indebted to him for choosing his children above all else and continuing to love me and provide for me as an everlasting disappointment. To my little brother, who has become extremely close-knit with me in the past year, I’m thankful everyday for his support. At the moment, he is the only person I know who wholly understands and accepts me for who I am; he is the one person in this world I know I can trust in any crappy situation I find myself in and he guides me out of it with his wise words… which is very fitting to his given name. Without him, I would be lost.

Ultimately, I am thankful to all of you. Each and every person who visits my Facebook, Twitter, and especially this website and supports my informal writing, my ideas, my creativity, my abilities, and my aspirations. You encourage when others doubt, you agree when others question, and you love when others hate. And even if you’re one of those people who spite me for whatever reason you have, I am thankful to have you because you in some freakish way fuel my drive. For those of you who I know and those of you I have yet the pleasure of meeting, for the things I have seen and have yet to see, and the experiences I’ve had and will hopefully continue to have: Thank you.

Now, it’s your turn. What are you thankful for this year?

Comments
2 Responses to “Thank You”
  1. Neil Warren says:

    This was really heart-warming to read and you have definitely given many people some food for thought! It’s surprising and refreshing to see some as young and beautiful as yourself in such a humble state of mind.

  2. Velardo says:

    Thats a great article!

Leave a Reply

